nutrition bars

i went to the co-op yesterday and found myself staring at the power bars and such. despite my extreme distaste for oats, i keep hearing about how amazing clif bars and luna bars are, and after my dismal failure with the bumblebar, i decided to give them another shot. i decided to buy one of each brand, in a flavor i’d heard many good things about.

the luna bar i chose was "chocolate peppermint stick." generally speaking this should be an absolute winner for me, because i love me some chocolate and peppermint together… but still, oats. to my surprise, though, when i opened this one, i found that it was frosted. also, the bar itself looked more like krispies and cookies than oats. i actually kind of liked it. and perhaps even more importantly, i ate the whole thing! i honestly don’t think i’ve ever eaten an entire power bar thingie. i will definitely give luna bars another shot, but will proceed with extreme caution. the next one i will try, of course, is the chai flavor.

the clif bar flavor i picked was lemon poppyseed–again, a love of mine in other forms (cookies, cakes, muffins). i can’t say i’m having a very good experience with this one. i opened it a few minutes ago and was struck by how dense and sticky it is. i’ve eaten two bites and i find it really oat-y and not very good at all. i have a weird taste in my mouth now. i think i’ll probably seal it up and see if my husband would like a crack at it.

but look, i tried! that’s got to count for something.

7 comments

  1. I last tried a chocolate peanut butter luna bar which I liked a lot (but, I don’t think I’ve had one since becoming vegan so I’d check the ingredients before trying that one). It was frosted too.

  2. I last tried a chocolate peanut butter luna bar which I liked a lot (but, I don’t think I’ve had one since becoming vegan so I’d check the ingredients before trying that one). It was frosted too.

Leave a Reply

