can jonathan antin be trusted?

i’m not too sure. yes, i watched blow out last summer. yes, i’m watching it again this summer. i know. shut up.

anyway, this summer’s installment is about jonathan launching a new product line (in addition to juggling two salons and a darling-but-very-young-looking girlfriend), and he mentioned in the first episode (last week) that the line is 100% vegan. i was pleasantly surprised, but now that i’ve done a little research i’m kind of skeptical.

here’s a link to his website. if you click on "formulations" and then click on "100% vegan" you get a little spiel that includes the phrase, "whenever possible, natural alternatives to wheat, dairy, and animal derived ingredients are used…" and that just sounds like serious tomfoolery. when i have some time maybe i’ll scour ingredients lists, but i can’t do that right now.

8 comments

  1. “Blow Out” was the only “reality TV show” I can recall where I watched more than one episode. I don’t know why I found it so compelling.

  2. F and I watched it the first season, and frankly, after all was said and done, I couldn’t see the appeal.
    But, there we were, watching season two!
    I caught the “vegan” term that he was throwing around concerning the product line too, but I didn’t put a lot of stock in it, as he seems the type to cut corners down the road to preserve “the bottom line”.
    Also, I don’t know if I missed something, but why did his product line need to launch in just a few months, when, as the marketing VP said, it usually takes a couple of years to create a line?
    Boo-hoo! Poor Jonathan! Financially comfortable, good-looking, a successfull business, and yet all that drama and angst….yes he has such a hard life!!!!

  3. I too find myself oddly compelled by Blow Out, even though I hate everyone on the show. Summer is indeed time for trash tv, and I find myself watching all these reality shows and I don’t know why. My latest addiction is Hell’s Kitchen.

  4. i love that you’re all watching too. hooray!
    Hanuman, i’m pretty sure it “had to be” three months because it was for teevy. they needed a new “crisis” to build season 2 around…
    pleather, i haven’t seen hell’s kitchen, but i’m slightly horrified to find that there is a special place in my heart for dancing with the stars. i blame it on joey mcintyre. well, and john o’hurley. damn them!

  5. Yes, Monday and Tuesday are awesome for bad reality tv – Monday we watched hell’s kitchen (which is a hoot, you should watch despite all the meat they cook), Tuesday we watched Trading spouses followed by Blow Out. I couldn’t stop laughing at how ridiculous it all is – I think that’s why I like it so much.

  6. I never saw the show. I really like the style he went with. I did not see the ingredients listed on the site. I saw a few that are in the products, but not the entire list.
    @Hanuman perhaps the marketing VP was thinking of a ‘Hollywood style launch’? I launched the day I applied for my business license, lol. If his company did a lot of the work himself, he would have cut the marketers out of the loop. 😉

  7. There was a small segment in this week’s episode explaining why the line had to be done in such a short period. It has something to do with some once-a-year thing where companies decide what new products they’ll sell or something like that. If they don’t have it done by then, they’ll have to wait another year. I don’t know. Alyn wasn’t on screen, so I wasn’t paying attention.
    That still doesn’t explain why they didn’t start the line earlier.
    Also, I love that marketing guy who has turned out to be Jonathan’s nemesis. It’s a whole “my enemy’s enemy is my friend” thing.

  8. There was a small segment in this week’s episode explaining why the line had to be done in such a short period. It has something to do with some once-a-year thing where companies decide what new products they’ll sell or something like that. If they don’t have it done by then, they’ll have to wait another year. I don’t know. Alyn wasn’t on screen, so I wasn’t paying attention.
    That still doesn’t explain why they didn’t start the line earlier.
    Also, I love that marketing guy who has turned out to be Jonathan’s nemesis. It’s a whole “my enemy’s enemy is my friend” thing.

Leave a Reply

