so damn vegan i broke my foot

Bench4_tinytoday i was using the big lint roller to de-cat-hair our duvet cover, and then i moved onto de-cat-hair-ing the small bench at the foot of our bed (seen at left). i had been wondering for quite some time whether that bench had a wool cover, because we bought it before i knew about the wool industry. well, today was the day! i remembered to wonder while standing next to the bench. amazing.

i peeked under the bench but there was nothing helpful flapping about; the labels were all stapled or glued to the underside. i leaned the bench toward me, in an attempt to lay it on its side so that i could then flip it upside-down… but before i got it all the way to the floor, i dropped it. it made a dull thumping sound right on top of my foot. it actually took a second to sink in, because it didn’t hurt at first–but then? oh lord. i paced the second floor of our house saying owie owie owie owie owie owie for a couple of laps, and then i looked at my foot. there was a bit of a "shiner" on the top. boo hoo, poor me.

i spent the next hour on the couch with an ice pack on my foot. i broke a bone in my foot a few years ago, and that sucked, so i was pretty irritated with myself this afternoon, but i think it will be okay. i should pull through.

and that bench is totally wool. harumph.

9 comments

  1. What a way to find out. 😦 I hope your foot is back to normal soon. Stay off your feet! Hey you have a good excuse to catch up on a few tv shows. 🙂

  2. Aww. Poor…hmm…what am I supposed to call you here? girl least likely to isn’t really a name. I shall call you yellowkatt. Now then. Aww…poor yellowkatt. Please get better soon.

  3. Eeep! You’re another victim of the cruel wool industry! Now you and the sheepies can identify and raise up together!
    *pictures vegan chai leading a line of sheep that look oddly similar to the ones on the serta commercials*

  4. alert! alert! yellowkatt checking in!
    i love the ideas you all gave me. maybe tonight i will put the foot up and watch me some good ol’ FiVo delights (currently working on this past sunday’s HBO lineup). while begging for vegan goodies. and then tomorrow i will go find myself some serta sheep to cuddle. 🙂

  5. alert! alert! yellowkatt checking in!
    i love the ideas you all gave me. maybe tonight i will put the foot up and watch me some good ol’ FiVo delights (currently working on this past sunday’s HBO lineup). while begging for vegan goodies. and then tomorrow i will go find myself some serta sheep to cuddle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

