yoghurt

i lived in england for a brief time and i still love spelling it "yoghurt," what can i say?

anyway, the point of this post is: i don’t understand why so many people hate silk yoghurt. i think it’s great. i didn’t try soy yoghurt until over a year after i went vegan, because i was so afraid of all the horror stories i’d heard about it. eventually i just thought, you know, i love soymilk, so why not give it a shot?

i tried the peach flavor first, which was incredibly brave on my part because i’ve never eaten a peach. i really liked it! since then i’ve also tried the strawberry, raspberry, and banana strawberry flavors, and i’ve liked them all.

i guess i should just count my blessings and be glad i found something i like on the first try.

11 comments

  1. I love Silk yogurt! I think it is one of the closest to dairy yogurt out there … but unfortunately we have a hard time getting it around here. The Whole Soy Co. yogurt is fairly similar and tasty too.

  2. You’ve never eaten a peach? That just makes me want to pack up a big bown of homegrown peaches and give them to you (they are one of my favourite fruits and one of the few things that makes the summer bareable)
    As for soy yoghurts, I’ve tried little bits of them, but after the big yoghurt freakout I had when I was omni, I don’t think I could eat any.

  3. Seriously, you’ve flown across the ocean and never eaten a peach? There is something dreadfully wrong with this picture.
    A ripe peach is the best fruit in the world. The problem is they are not regularly available in the midwest. Often we get hard unripe peaches that don’t properly ripen at home.
    A ripe peach restores my soul and makes me want to be a better person; it makes me think there might be a god and she might be on my side. If I had unlimited access to ripe peaches and they provided all my dietary needs I would be a peachitarian in a heartbeat. Most of the conflict in the world could be solved if people had year round access to free ripe peaches.

  4. pleather, the list of our commonalities grows longer still.
    aw, so much love for peaches! i must confess, the fuzzy skin freaks me out, which is why i’ve never had one. i promise that when they are in season, i will try one. when are they in season?
    Hanuman, thanks for the tip about stonyfield yoghurts; i’ll give those a try too.

  5. pleather, the list of our commonalities grows longer still.
    aw, so much love for peaches! i must confess, the fuzzy skin freaks me out, which is why i’ve never had one. i promise that when they are in season, i will try one. when are they in season?
    Hanuman, thanks for the tip about stonyfield yoghurts; i’ll give those a try too.

  6. Try peeling them first. You may like the taste so much you eat the peel later. I have a very good peach ice “cream” recipe I’ll share one day.
    I like the way “yoghurt” is spelled here too. But not the way it smells.
    Ever since I gave up milk I haven’t been able to stomach the smell.

  7. Try peeling them first. You may like the taste so much you eat the peel later. I have a very good peach ice “cream” recipe I’ll share one day.
    I like the way “yoghurt” is spelled here too. But not the way it smells.
    Ever since I gave up milk I haven’t been able to stomach the smell.

Leave a Reply

