anhydrous butter oil

i have bored you with my love of non-pareils before, so i won’t get into it again, except to say: holy crap i love non-pareils. like, LOVE them love them. with that out of the way…

when i travel i always like to look at the candy aisle in stores, because you never know what weird (and possibly vegan) stuff you might find. for example, we don’t have goldenberg’s peanut chews (aka "the vegan snickers") in my town, so i like to see if they have them in the town i’m visiting. anyway, on wednesday night when we arrived in texas, we went out to dinner with a friend, and then on the way back to our hotel we passed a drugstore. my husband had forgotten to pack his toothbrush, so we wandered in to get a toothbrush and whatever random other things we might need now that we were reminded of their existence.

as i scrutinized the candy aisle, i saw some non-pareils i’d never seen before. they had a very original name: real chocolate nonpareils (heh) and they were made by necco. or haviland, depending on which brand you recognize better. there are two brands listed; no idea why. anyway, i’ve heard of necco wafers, so i recognized it as a brand, but i didn’t know they made chocolate. the picture on the box looked like dark chocolate, so i checked out the ingredients list for milk or butterfat or whatever. lo and behold, they were safe! vegan! whee!! i read the ingredients over about three times to be sure, all the while babbling to my friend stacy about how exciting this was. she was appropriately happy for me. i scurried over to my husband to tell him, and he was also excited for me. yay!

we went back to our hotel, and he put them in the fridge for me (i love my chocolate cold). an hour or two later, i said, "right on! time to eat those vegan non-pareils, sucka!" and i went to grab them out of the fridge. i opened the box, opened the little bag inside the box, and popped one in my mouth. before i had even finished chewing that one i stuck a second one in my mouth. they were quite tasty! as i was working on the second one, though, i thought, these seem really creamy, almost like they could be milk chocolate… that’s very interesting. as a compulsion, i checked the ingredients one more time and forced myself to read very slowly.

i’m going to blame the formatting here, and also my sense of exuberant optimism when first seeing the box, but once i forced myself to read the list carefully, there it was, plain as day: anhydrous butter oil. ARGH! the way the ingredients are listed, they’re right- and left-justified so there are lots of big gaps between words and it’s very weird-looking. cocoa butter is one of the ingredients, and so both incidences of "butter" appear very near to the word "cocoa" and i think i just processed the information incorrectly. nevertheless: ARGH! why why why why why??

then i attempted that last-ditch effort that we’ve all tried at one point in time: i googled anhydrous butter oil just to be sure it really was dairy. heh.

it was a very very sad moment, i can tell you that much. husband is working his way through the box for me.

10 comments

  1. I’m lactose intolerant and allergic to dairy (yes, there is a difference), and I had the EXACT same situation happen to me, MINUS the husband and vacation part. so I googled it and I found your story! HAHA

  2. grrr…i just bought “Real Chocoalte Non Pareils” and after eating a few I re-checked the ingredients,..i was like..wtf is anhydrous butter oil…google to the rescue..I am quite disappointed and feel your pain as well as I love non-pareils as well…guess I’ll take these candies to my preschool class and give it to them, hate having them be wasted….this is the second time in 2 days I inadvertenly bought something non-vegan (it was soup…health valley minestrone..had eggs in it..I heated it up and everything…good thing I rechecked ingredients before I ate it…ugh..maybe I’ll feed it to my cats..haha)

  3. grrr…i just bought “Real Chocoalte Non Pareils” and after eating a few I re-checked the ingredients,..i was like..wtf is anhydrous butter oil…google to the rescue..I am quite disappointed and feel your pain as well as I love non-pareils as well…guess I’ll take these candies to my preschool class and give it to them, hate having them be wasted….this is the second time in 2 days I inadvertenly bought something non-vegan (it was soup…health valley minestrone..had eggs in it..I heated it up and everything…good thing I rechecked ingredients before I ate it…ugh..maybe I’ll feed it to my cats..haha)

Leave a Reply

