a lesson in not butting in

last night i was out with some friends from high school, having one of our monthly girls’ nights, when i stepped away to take a phone call from my husband. avery (our kitty) has been sick the past few days, and my husband was calling with a health update (he’s doing better. yay!). anyhow, once i was finished with my call and wandered back to my friends, they were talking about something or other online-related. i couldn’t figure it out right away from the context, so i butted in, asking, "what are you talking about? who what?" the answer was, "blogs. mike has one and we were just… do you have a blog?"

and there i stood, like a deer in the headlights. it was somewhat obvious from their tone and the looks on their faces that they thought blogs were kind of weird, and/or they didn’t "get" how or why someone would want to blog, especially "i mean people in their 30s." in that nanosecond i had to decide whether to lie or tell the truth. i think i am generally an exceptionally transparent person, and so i somewhat predictably told the truth. i looked straight at them and said, "um, yes i do."

this led to a discussion of what the heck blogs are for, and what they’re about, and how people would ever have time to write such a thing, and so on and so forth. they weren’t being malicious at all, but i still felt a little goofy. i did my best to explain some of the variety in the blogosphere and i simply said "mine is about veganism." they also asked about whether people can write them anonymously, and i said, "oh yes. mine is, for sure." heh.

there are VERY few people in my in-person network of friends and family who know that i have a blog. my husband, my sister, and i think two friends from grad school. that’s it. and out of those people, only two of them read it. all of the rest of you either know me from the snuggly universe of vegandom, or you found me by accident. i am not very open about my blogging because i kind of like being able to talk about my experiences with family, friends, students, and so on without worrying that my mom or one of my undergrads will stumble across me here. so i really did wonder (in that brief moment) whether i should own up or not. in the end i guess i feel okay about admitting it, mostly because i know they won’t find me, so it still feels like a "safe" space. *considers the fact that i have now totally jinxed myself*

14 comments

  1. Oh, that’s such a weird situation. I try to keep my blog as quiet as a can among people I actually know. I think only one or two people know about it.
    Unrelated, but: I got a package from you today! Thank you so much! The peppermint bar is amazing, seriously.

  2. I commented on a meme on my brother’s blog that I had responded at my LJ. He then posted my LJ address in his “family” sidebar. So now everyone can find my innermost thoughts. Thank goodness for locked posts!

  3. That’s too bad that peeps don’t think that having a blog is “cool,” and it’s a good thing that you are above what others think. I’m glad you are sharing part of yourself with those of us who have found your little corner of the internet. I appreciate your blog very much. So there! πŸ™‚

  4. people at my school tend to think blogging is cool, or acceptable at the very least. I keep it quiet from most people; I have told a few people but not many because i get this look, like i am a complete weirdo. I just don’t want to deal with that.

  5. people at my school tend to think blogging is cool, or acceptable at the very least. I keep it quiet from most people; I have told a few people but not many because i get this look, like i am a complete weirdo. I just don’t want to deal with that.

  6. Most of the people I know irl at this point are from online, so blogging among us is more expected than not! But I do understand the desire to keep it quiet from many. No one in my family knows, for sure.

  7. I so very much understand what you’re saying. I’m surprised that your friends would think that blogging is weird. It seems so common now. I think you’re safe, though. Your blog is pretty anonymous. πŸ™‚

  8. Also awkward, evidently- being in your 30’s and having a myspace page. I get the weirdest looks.
    Having developed most of your closest friendships through online communities though- perfectly normal. πŸ™‚

  9. Also awkward, evidently- being in your 30’s and having a myspace page. I get the weirdest looks.
    Having developed most of your closest friendships through online communities though- perfectly normal. πŸ™‚

  10. remember up there where I said my brother posted my LJ on his website?? Well, I just saw my uncle at GGB’s 90th birthday party and he reads my LJ VERY FREQUENTLY. Gotta start locking my posts with swears or caring less about what my family thinks! πŸ˜‰

  11. i’ve been remiss on comments because i was busy being embarrassed. sorry about that, everyone.
    amanda–so glad you got the package, and so glad you liked it!
    gladcow–oh god, seriously, one of my worst nightmares. if my mom ever finds this blog i think i’ll have to close up shop.
    K–thank you so much! that’s really sweet of you to say. πŸ™‚
    tim–oh no! i didn’t mean to leave you out! i’m a jerk. *smooch*
    jessiegirl, Deb, Flower, & stegan–oh yeah, i hear you on all counts. πŸ™‚
    …and by now you’ve all probably read my subsequent post. heh.

Leave a Reply

