beets

i really like beets! who knew? not i, that’s for sure.

i was one of those kids who (like most kids, probably) ate what my parents liked (carbs), and didn’t even try stuff my parents didn’t like (chinese food). if my parents came up with a split decision, i might give it a shot and decide for myself… or i might just err on the side of caution and join the "don’t like it" team. my grandma was always a total sweetie pie and she continually told me that i didn’t have to try things if i thought they seemed gross, and she also regularly said, "don’t make yourself sick, sweetie–you don’t have to finish it if you don’t want to." i don’t really consider myself a fussy eater, per se, but there are definitely things i DON’T like, and i tend to have rather strong opinions about them (i.e., mushrooms, eggplant, mustard, pickled ANYTHING).

but there are also lots of things i have just never tried, owing mainly to my parents, and over the years i have learned that i actually adore plenty of things i never bothered with as a kid. like what, you ask? well, like: guacamole, avocados in general, caesar salad, chickpeas, hummus, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, refried beans, black beans, tofu, and yogurt… these are but a few examples of things i never tried until i was in my 20s (some not until i was in my 30s!) but completely am head over heels in love with today.

when i went vegan, i became a lot more adventurous with my eating, and i started trying all kinds of things i had never wanted before, or maybe never even heard of. nowadays i readily order tempeh and seitan when i’m out, and i’m eating cuisines i never experimented with before going vegan (indian, middle eastern, thai). i guess veganism basically facilitated breaking down a lot of boundaries for me, as far as trying new things. and yet there are still tons of things i’ve never eaten, like kale, for instance. or beets–until the other night, that is!

i came home a couple of nights ago and my husband was involved in some top-secret dinner project, which i eventually learned was vegan cheesesteaks and a side of beets. hee! i had been talking about beets lately, and he loves them, so i guess he decided to take matters into his own hands and make some for me. he prepared them with a little olive oil and some salt & pepper, and plated them very prettily next to my sandwich. i was totally excited to try them, although a little tentative, but i shouldn’t have worried–i really really liked them! hooray! i get very excited when i try something new, and i’m all proud of myself when i like it. i have no idea why i get proud of myself (and i also usually ask my husband, "are you proud of me?"), but whatever, i’m weird.

anyhow, i thought it was kind of funny, once i tried them, to learn that beets are somewhat unremarkable. they remind me a little bit of carrots, which i’ve loved since i was practically a baby. they have a mild and somewhat sweet taste, and a nice texture. they’re so unassuming, yet tasty. i don’t know what i was so afraid of all those years. yay beets!

3 comments

  1. Beets are so awesome. I love them roasted in salads. I wasn’t a big fan of beets most of my life because I was only given canned beets, which aren’t awful but don’t hold a candle to fresh beets lovingly prepared at home.

  2. ditto to much of what you said. except, i have always been more adventurous about food-more in the way of trying foreign cusine. my dad has always been a little resistant with new foods, and my mom more willing. but my sister and i have always wanted to try new stuff…peruvian, indian, thai, german, french, pretty much you name it. though generally, i would stick with familiar ingredients within those ethnic foods.
    there is an asian supermarket here, well more than one, but there is one in particular that has a lot of world foods. my sister and i have this tradition of ALWAYS buying at least one thing we have never tried whenever we go there. it’s a little more challenging now that i am a vegan, but still possible since they have a vegetarian section and lots of exotic fruits and vegetables. in fact, my sister got me vegan shrimp last time she was there and i have yet to try it. i was thinking of making a vegan shrimp scampi or vegan coconut shrimp!
    and despite all that, i just barely got myself to try asparagus (undisguised by other ingredients) at the thankful veghead. i am not a fan. and i recently blogged on how i love the spinach and artichoke hummus i get at the store. i would not have been that person a few years ago!
    my grandfather eats a bunch of foods that i frown at…never having tried myself. you’d think i would be encouraged. and beets are one of them. i just haven’t had the guts to try the beets yet! maybe i will try them the next time i am at a salad bar. ok ok. next time i WILL try them.
    i don’t like mushrooms or eggplant either. and those i have tried.

  3. I totally had the same experience with beets, and with veganism making me more open to new foods! Crazy. I think the children of vegan parents have a real advantage, on this front – or so I hope. Maybe vegan little ones can still grow up picky, despite growing up surrounded by tempeh and hummus…

Leave a Reply

beets

i really like beets! who knew? not i, that’s for sure.

i was one of those kids who (like most kids, probably) ate what my parents liked (carbs), and didn’t even try stuff my parents didn’t like (chinese food). if my parents came up with a split decision, i might give it a shot and decide for myself… or i might just err on the side of caution and join the "don’t like it" team. my grandma was always a total sweetie pie and she continually told me that i didn’t have to try things if i thought they seemed gross, and she also regularly said, "don’t make yourself sick, sweetie–you don’t have to finish it if you don’t want to." i don’t really consider myself a fussy eater, per se, but there are definitely things i DON’T like, and i tend to have rather strong opinions about them (i.e., mushrooms, eggplant, mustard, pickled ANYTHING).

but there are also lots of things i have just never tried, owing mainly to my parents, and over the years i have learned that i actually adore plenty of things i never bothered with as a kid. like what, you ask? well, like: guacamole, avocados in general, caesar salad, chickpeas, hummus, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, refried beans, black beans, tofu, and yogurt… these are but a few examples of things i never tried until i was in my 20s (some not until i was in my 30s!) but completely am head over heels in love with today.

when i went vegan, i became a lot more adventurous with my eating, and i started trying all kinds of things i had never wanted before, or maybe never even heard of. nowadays i readily order tempeh and seitan when i’m out, and i’m eating cuisines i never experimented with before going vegan (indian, middle eastern, thai). i guess veganism basically facilitated breaking down a lot of boundaries for me, as far as trying new things. and yet there are still tons of things i’ve never eaten, like kale, for instance. or beets–until the other night, that is!

i came home a couple of nights ago and my husband was involved in some top-secret dinner project, which i eventually learned was vegan cheesesteaks and a side of beets. hee! i had been talking about beets lately, and he loves them, so i guess he decided to take matters into his own hands and make some for me. he prepared them with a little olive oil and some salt & pepper, and plated them very prettily next to my sandwich. i was totally excited to try them, although a little tentative, but i shouldn’t have worried–i really really liked them! hooray! i get very excited when i try something new, and i’m all proud of myself when i like it. i have no idea why i get proud of myself (and i also usually ask my husband, "are you proud of me?"), but whatever, i’m weird.

anyhow, i thought it was kind of funny, once i tried them, to learn that beets are somewhat unremarkable. they remind me a little bit of carrots, which i’ve loved since i was practically a baby. they have a mild and somewhat sweet taste, and a nice texture. they’re so unassuming, yet tasty. i don’t know what i was so afraid of all those years. yay beets!

2 comments

  1. I used to hate beets. But I recently tried them and wow! Pleasantly surprised. I’m also very fond of pickled beets.
    I love how you said that veganism really broke down the barriers. So true! I eat so many foods now that I never ate before and for that I’m grateful.

  2. I like beets, too, yet in retrospect I think I held back incorporating them into my diet because no one I knew seemed very excited by them. I like their redness.
    >>>they’re so unassuming, yet tasty.<<<
    Perfect. That could be the beet advertising campiagn slogan right there.

Leave a Reply

