vegan pizza in the wild

i just have to squee a little bit about what i had for lunch (and dinner) today. we went to one of our favorite lunch spots, a new-ish pizza place about 20 minutes from our house. we love them because they’re hip and the space is cool-looking and the pizza is gigantic (one slice is bigger than your face, for serious) and they are extremely friendly and loving to the vegans. they have three different (cheeseless) pizzas on the menu that are straight-up vegan, and they have tofu and vegan sausage as topping choices, and their breadsticks are vegan, and basically i just love them. they don’t have vegan cheese, but everything is tasty so i forgave them for that. my husband is addicted to pizza, so we visit somewhat regularly.

the last time we were there, right after we ordered, my husband noticed that there was a sign taped to the counter (for the cashiers to read) detailing all of the fun facts about follow your heart vegan cheese (hooray!) and how to charge for it, etc. and he gave me a little nudge. i read the sign and immediately grilled the cashier, all excited and nerdy-like. i decided not to change my order then, but planned to come back soon in order to bask in my new cheesy options. well, today was that day!

i decided to keep things simple. i almost went with my ol’ pregan standby of cheese + onions, but decided to dress it up a bit and added garlic and basil as well. it was soooooo gooood!! i ate two gigantic pieces and brought the rest home (we ate it for dinner). i’m so excited about this development, i had to share it with people who would understand. yay for vegan cheese in restaurants!

6 comments

  1. Ooh! I bought some of that cheese for the first time yesterday! They were out of the mozzarella one, so I bought the monterey jack one. I haven’t tried it yet, but I was a little skeptical when I bought it. Is that stuff really good? I tried Tofutti’s vegan yellow cheese and it was nassssty.

  2. Oh man! That’s so awesome. I’m super jealous, as there is nowhere in a 100-mile radius of me where one can get vegan pizza, let alone vegan cheese pizza.

  3. Oh man! That’s so awesome. I’m super jealous, as there is nowhere in a 100-mile radius of me where one can get vegan pizza, let alone vegan cheese pizza.

  4. denise, i like FYH for melty things like pizza (when we make it at home), lasagna, and quesadillas… but it’s not the kind of of thing you’d want to slice and eat on crackers, if you get my drift.
    BUT i should also admit that i like tofutti’s american slices! ha! so maybe you shouldn’t listen to me. 🙂

  5. denise, i like FYH for melty things like pizza (when we make it at home), lasagna, and quesadillas… but it’s not the kind of of thing you’d want to slice and eat on crackers, if you get my drift.
    BUT i should also admit that i like tofutti’s american slices! ha! so maybe you shouldn’t listen to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

