kittens are dangerous

today when i went to socialize the cats at the humane society, there was only ONE who was ready to go to the playroom. one! so, i took her to the room and snuggled with her for about 30 minutes, and then decided to just wander around and pester various kittens. heh. we have a whole bunch of solo kittens right now, for whatever reason, and i always feel bad for them. it just seems wrong to have a baby kitten all alone. they need a buddy, or a pile of other kittens to sleep with–it’s only fair! so i looked for the ones who either seemed like they were dying for attention, or the ones who seemed a little nervous about people. i played with three very friendly kittens, and then won over a nervous orange & white baby boy. hooray! the one i snuggled with the longest, a flame-point siamese (he’s so young that right now he’s basically solid white), had me completely wrapped around his paw. he rolled around and rooted in my lap for at least 35 minutes, purring and just making it his job to be adorable. sigh. on days like these, i always daydream about adopting a third.

4 comments

  1. I plan on volunteering at the local shelter once jobs and things are settled. I’m hoping that the small apartment and glad-to-be-an-only-child cat at home will prevent me from wanting to take someone home.
    Being with animals can always make me feel better.

  2. i know, it’s VERY tempting sometimes!! the good news is that our humane society never euthanizes based on length of stay or space, so i don’t generally feel “pressured” to save anyone. thank goodness. πŸ˜‰

  3. I have been volunteering at my local shelter for about a year now. Like most of the posters here, I was afraid I’d fall in love with the cats or would cry every moment I was there. But, I got the courage to go up one day and yes it was a little heart-breaking at first (not as bad as I thought it would be though). But most importantly, even though it’s tough sometimes, at least I am going up there and making a difference, no matter how small it is. You can do it guys (and girls), do it for the kitties!! They need dedicated and loving volunteers like you. Some shelters are so desperate for volunteers so go and do it for the little ones!! Trust me, it gets much easier once you realize you are doing all you can to make a difference!
    Have fun snuggling as many cat and kittens as you can!

Leave a Reply

