darouk, the feisty arabian

my dad called with very sad news this evening. i can always tell when he calls to give me bad news: he starts his conversation with, “so how are you?”

i doubt he realizes that he does this, but he’s done it enough that i always know something’s up when he starts that way. i imagine i hear something in his tone, too, but really it’s that phrase. if he’s calling just to pick my brain about american idol or ask me for a quick favor, the phone call starts very differently. i find it kind of interesting that he uses such an innocuous phrase but that i always interpret it as, “he’s about to tell me something Not Good.”

so anyway, my dad called tonight and asked me how i’m doing, and i said, very guardedly, “oh, okay…” and waited for the fallout. i didn’t have to wait long. he said, “well, unfortunately i’m calling with some pretty bad news,” and then he proceeded to tell me about the incredibly sad afternoon that he and my stepmom spent saying goodbye to her horse, darouk. i just mentioned him last month, so you might remember that he was getting to be an older guy (37!), but until very recently he was in pretty great health.

apparently this morning he was lying down in his stall, and couldn’t get up. he had fallen twice in the past month or two (slippery pasture), and had a rough time getting up, but he recovered both times and was doing okay. as soon as my parents got the call today that he wasn’t getting up, they both left work immediately (after calling the vet) and went right to the barn. they tried to help in several different ways, but he just couldn’t get up. after a lot of crying (both my parents and the vet, who has known darouk as long as my stepmom has), they finally decided it was time to let him go. it was not an easy decision by any means: my stepmom adopted darouk when he was only a year or two old (and she was only about 19 i think!), so this is a very special relationship that has lasted her entire adult life. i just can’t even imagine how she must have felt today. i started crying as soon as my dad told me, and i kept that up for awhile. i’m so sad. poor old boy.

my earliest memory of my stepmom was the day i met darouk. i was 7 years old, i think, maybe 8. my dad wasn’t even officially dating her yet (we’ll leave those details to the mists of time, but let’s just say my parents were still married then), but he finagled us a play date because i loved horses so much. she was a total sweetheart to me, and so excited to show him off. i almost don’t know how to think about her without darouk in the picture somewhere. i can’t believe he’s gone.

5 comments

  1. aw, that is so sad. It is somewhat comforting to be able to look back at his very long and happy life and to know that it was full and good, but that only does the tiniest bit to mitigate how sad it is to lose them. *hugs*
    (completely unrelated, but lately the feed has been sort of weird – I’ll see nothing, and then four will pop up in my reader, some of them days old. I use google reader, and I don’t know if it is a problem there, or with your feed. I thought I’d mention it in case others are experiencing this and it is something you need to let typepad know about!)

  2. aw, that is so sad. It is somewhat comforting to be able to look back at his very long and happy life and to know that it was full and good, but that only does the tiniest bit to mitigate how sad it is to lose them. *hugs*
    (completely unrelated, but lately the feed has been sort of weird – I’ll see nothing, and then four will pop up in my reader, some of them days old. I use google reader, and I don’t know if it is a problem there, or with your feed. I thought I’d mention it in case others are experiencing this and it is something you need to let typepad know about!)

  3. thanks for the hugs, girlies. i appreciate them. my stepmom is really having a tough time, which i can totally understand. 😦
    deb–thanks for the heads up on the google reader. how strange! i use google reader too, and i haven’t been having problems, but i’ve also been a little sporadic on checking it the past week (i.e., i’m not looking at my blogs several times per day like i do sometimes), so maybe i just haven’t been noticing. i’ll keep an eye on it. thanks again.

  4. thanks for the hugs, girlies. i appreciate them. my stepmom is really having a tough time, which i can totally understand. 😦
    deb–thanks for the heads up on the google reader. how strange! i use google reader too, and i haven’t been having problems, but i’ve also been a little sporadic on checking it the past week (i.e., i’m not looking at my blogs several times per day like i do sometimes), so maybe i just haven’t been noticing. i’ll keep an eye on it. thanks again.

Leave a Reply

