some basic details

thanks for all of the congrats and well-wishing, everyone. i’m still pretty overwhelmed and a lot nervous and a little freaked out, but since i didn’t give any details about her last night, i thought i’d better give some now. heidi (we will probably change her name, but haven’t decided to what) is two years old, and her birthday was in march (two days after avery’s). she only ran two races, both in february of this year, and she placed pretty badly in both. here’s hoping that means she has a terrible prey drive! heh. she’s pretty small, about 60 pounds, and she’s very sweet. she’s really well-behaved on a leash, and when we took her to the big fenced area to run, she took off like a goofy crazy galloping silly. she’s extremely cute. she definitely seems like an amazing dog and a great match for us, and yet i’m terrified. so that’s probably all i’ll be saying for a little while, until i start feeling less insane.

8 comments

  1. you’ll feel sane soon! i got ruca when she was only 7 weeks old and i was a neurotic mess! she was so teeny, i thought she would break. it took awhile for me to chill out, but now she’s just a normal member of the family 🙂

  2. Before we brought The E home I was simultaneously so excited that I couldn’t sleep, and so convinced that getting a dog was the dumbest thing we’d ever do and the Worst. Decision. Ever.
    I felt only slightly less ambivalent about Valley Girl 2 years later.
    I actually remember feeling more worked up about adopting a dog than about having a human baby. I’m probably misremembering but it sure seems like I was!

  3. Before we brought The E home I was simultaneously so excited that I couldn’t sleep, and so convinced that getting a dog was the dumbest thing we’d ever do and the Worst. Decision. Ever.
    I felt only slightly less ambivalent about Valley Girl 2 years later.
    I actually remember feeling more worked up about adopting a dog than about having a human baby. I’m probably misremembering but it sure seems like I was!

Leave a Reply

