getting a rise out of vegans

okay, i know i’ve talked about this before, many times, but it never ceases to amaze me. why is it that some people just can’t restrain themselves when they’re around me?

tonight i left my office to go to the restroom at the end of the hall. while washing my hands, i heard one of my colleagues (who had just arrived) talking to another colleague (whose office is across the hall from me). as i came out of the bathroom and started walking toward them, i realized that hallway guy was telling office guy about how he had been dealing with some mice in his basement(?), and i also realized that it would be best for me to get back into my office and close the door as soon as possible, because hallway guy has a problem with blurting out inappropriate things just to irritate me. i quickly but quietly got within a foot of my office door before hallway guy noticed me, at which point he said loudly and with gusto, "but thank god i killed all the damn things! i killed them all!"

w. t. f?

he managed to (almost maniacally) blurt these sentences out just as i was getting into my office, at which point i was so frustrated at his obvious goading that i just yelled, "fantastic timing!" and let the door shut behind me. once i was inside my office, i heard him return to his conversation with office guy, wherein he explained the lovely and humane (by which i mean torturous and cruel) method he used to kill the mice: glue traps.

HATERY.

okay, but back to my original question: why does he do this?! he’s like a third-grader. this is the same person who likes to tell me how he prepares lamb on holidays, and who used to joke about eating my pet rabbit. and the weirdest part about it all? seriously, i kid you not, he likes me. he cares about my well-being, he has been helpful and generous to me, and he has been a big advocate for me. so what the flipping hell?

5 comments

  1. I’ll tell you what my interpretation is–he’s threatened. Whenever people make jokes like that, they’re actually internally struggling with whether their own meat-eating habits are ethically defensible. Just keep being nice and a positive influence and maybe you’ll inadvertently turn him.

  2. Wow, that sounds really frustrating. I can’t say if this is the same situation, but I have several friends who like to tease me about “eating dead plants” and other vegan-jabs. They seem to enjoy provoking me, even to the point when I actually get annoyed. But I realized that they tease me about other things, too–just in general, they like to get me riled up. My brother used to do this to me when I was a kid, too…The best way to respond tends to be to ignore them, and not provide the entertaining reaction they want. Unfortunately, that is almost always the hardest thing to do in the situation! Maybe try to stay calmer in front of him and then go rant to a friend (or blog!) afterwards to get your anger out? But it is really hard, I can almost never do it…

  3. Have you told him that you are truly offended by this? I have found that even normally sane and kind people turn into freaks because they just don’t understand. I would not ignore him. Go right up to him and say, it really offends me that you say things like this. Are you doing it just to hurt me? Seriously I think the issue will come straight out into the open either way! Just keep your vegan cool and let him be the weird-o all by himself.

  4. I have to say that my husband’s best friend is very similar to this. My husband even admits that he likes to aggravate people for no reason. I think some people, mainly men in my experience, just enjoy it. It’s strange and it’s sad.

  5. I have to say that my husband’s best friend is very similar to this. My husband even admits that he likes to aggravate people for no reason. I think some people, mainly men in my experience, just enjoy it. It’s strange and it’s sad.

Leave a Reply

