veganism is so confusing

i always forget that people who aren’t vegan sometimes find the whole concept really muddy and confusing. tonight someone asked me in all seriousness, “can you eat cake?!” and then as i jokey-joked my way through that and explained that yes, i could indeed eat cake, someone else was super-surprised that i can eat chocolate. sometimes i feel like a lot of my conversations revolve around ingredients-education and pointing out what a total junk food junkie i am. heh.

3 comments

  1. I think “So you can’t eat chocolate?” is the most common question I have gotten in discussions of veganism. Which is so weird, because there is SO MUCH vegan chocolate out there. I guess people get confused because they don’t really pay as much attention to food as I do, but I am always mystified.
    And “Can you eat cake?” is a funny one too. I am always tempted to say, “Not meat-cake. But lots of other kinds…”
    J.

  2. Everyone always ask me “So, what do you eat twigs and berries?” Which I don’t even dignify with an answer. I just rattle off a list of all the great vegan foods that are in their regular local grocery store. I remind them that the produce section is way bigger than the meat section.

  3. I am right with you – i think the weirdest comment/question I got was about breastfeeding vegan kids. They assume that vegans wouldn’t because it is an “animal” product. And I have to convince them that its natural for human babies to eat their mom’s milk (since it’s INTENDED for that purpose) – but unnatural to drink another animals milk. I would never have reached that logic – I just think veganism is so simple and other people make it so complicated.
    When I make cake everyone is surprised and they say – so what replaced the eggs/mlik? And I just say that some recipes don’t have “replacements” and cake is one of them! I have decided that when I bring cupcakes or anything to a party I don’t tell many people (other than the other vegans) that they are vegan until everyone is loving them.

Leave a Reply

veganism is so confusing

i always forget that people who aren’t vegan sometimes find the whole concept really muddy and confusing. tonight someone asked me in all seriousness, “can you eat cake?!” and then as i jokey-joked my way through that and explained that yes, i could indeed eat cake, someone else was super-surprised that i can eat chocolate. sometimes i feel like a lot of my conversations revolve around ingredients-education and pointing out what a total junk food junkie i am. heh.

2 comments

  1. Everyone always ask me “So, what do you eat twigs and berries?” Which I don’t even dignify with an answer. I just rattle off a list of all the great vegan foods that are in their regular local grocery store. I remind them that the produce section is way bigger than the meat section.

  2. I am right with you – i think the weirdest comment/question I got was about breastfeeding vegan kids. They assume that vegans wouldn’t because it is an “animal” product. And I have to convince them that its natural for human babies to eat their mom’s milk (since it’s INTENDED for that purpose) – but unnatural to drink another animals milk. I would never have reached that logic – I just think veganism is so simple and other people make it so complicated.
    When I make cake everyone is surprised and they say – so what replaced the eggs/mlik? And I just say that some recipes don’t have “replacements” and cake is one of them! I have decided that when I bring cupcakes or anything to a party I don’t tell many people (other than the other vegans) that they are vegan until everyone is loving them.

Leave a Reply

