field roast

so, i've heard tales of the wondrous celebration roast, but i've never had one or even seen one in person. recently i noticed that all of our little go-to spots in town were carrying the field roast brand, and now i'm really excited for thanksgiving. (of course, i suppose there's no rule that i have to wait until the end of november to try celebration roast! heh, i'm a dork.) 

anyhoot, tonight we were supposed to go to a cookout and i'm the only vaygun, so my husband wanted to figure out something we could bring for me to eat. we were browsing in a little market and he started poking through the field roast sausages. but see, the thing is? i hate sausage. i have never ever liked sausage. bleah. it's not something i miss, it's not something i've ever tried to "recapture" in veg*n form, i'm just fine living my life sausage-free, thank you very much. i would have been perfectly happy bringing veggie burgers or something like that, but he was not to be deterred. he thought this would be a fun thing to try, so eventually i settled on a flavor that i thought might work for me: smoked apple sage (described as a combination of wheat meat, granny smith apples, yukon gold potatoes, and so forth).

when we arrived at the cookout, we were informed that the hosts had boca burgers at the ready (so thoughtful!), but then we ended up just trying the sausages and going for it. i have to say: i stand corrected. i really liked my sandwich and i would totally eat those again. my husband also had one, and so did one of the hosts–they both liked it a lot, too. color me surprised, and hooray for field roast!
6 comments

  1. I’m a huge field roast fan. I really love their products and their philosophy and they’re close to me (in seattle). the apple sage are my fav. I love the celebration loaf with butternut squash gravy. mmmmm.

  2. I love this entry, and I’ll tell you why. For months and months, I’ve been seeing the Field Roast sausages above the Tofurky brats at the co-op. I’ve always thought they were real animal sausages, and they’ve always grossed me out. After reading this entry, I decided to buy them today. The gross animal sausages I’ve tried not to look at for months… :p They’re decent. Thanks. 🙂

  3. i tried the celebration roast after november last year and i was plesantly surprised. tasty! and much easier to cook fast than the tofurky roast. the snausages i have not yet tried. i was slow to try snausages because i was not a big fan when a meat eater of them. BUT vegan ones, so far, have actually been tasty.

  4. i tried the celebration roast after november last year and i was plesantly surprised. tasty! and much easier to cook fast than the tofurky roast. the snausages i have not yet tried. i was slow to try snausages because i was not a big fan when a meat eater of them. BUT vegan ones, so far, have actually been tasty.

Leave a Reply

