driving with doggies

so, when we pack maia up in the back of my car, we just throw a sheet down for her to lay on. it’s fine right now in the middle of summer, but i’m thinking that a sheet won’t cut it when it’s yucky and rainy and/or muddy. also, a sheet is VERY hard to keep tucked in and normal-looking, so my backseat looks like a laundry pile. oh, and sometimes maia stands up, and then we turn and she flops over. 

i was thinking something like this might be a really cool idea. it’s cushy, it keeps her from slipping onto the floor, it’s washable, it stays put, and i can get it to match my car interior. what say you, doggie moms and dads?

oh! and while i’ve got you–what do you think about doggie seatbelts? i love the idea, but i wonder if a greyhound would handle it well… they aren’t really “sitters” like most dogs.
6 comments

  1. I tried a harness on my dog (beagle) and she hated it. Squirmed around until she was all twisted up and I had to take it off. But I would definitely get something that keeps them from flying around in case of an accident. My brother’s lab fell off the seat when they had to stop short, hurt her leg, and needed a bunch of surgeries. She has to go to physical therapy now, poor girl, but she’s doing better.
    That has scared me, so I’m going to try a harness/seatbelt again. I’m hoping I can bribe her with treats into liking it. 🙂

  2. I tried a harness on my dog (beagle) and she hated it. Squirmed around until she was all twisted up and I had to take it off. But I would definitely get something that keeps them from flying around in case of an accident. My brother’s lab fell off the seat when they had to stop short, hurt her leg, and needed a bunch of surgeries. She has to go to physical therapy now, poor girl, but she’s doing better.
    That has scared me, so I’m going to try a harness/seatbelt again. I’m hoping I can bribe her with treats into liking it. 🙂

  3. I used a seatbelt for years with my dog. She’d sit, lie down, stand up – it isn’t like a seatbelt for humans, since it is them wearing a halter that can be attached to the seatbelt. They can’t pace in it (which is not a bad thing) but they have plenty of freedom of movement anyway.
    And it is so much safer. Really, a crate in the car is what can keep them safest in the event of an accident, but at the very least a seatbelt. It is safer for everyone, since they’re less likely to be distracting to the driver. I also found that my dog felt more comfortable when she was wearing the seatbelt. She must have felt more secure, and it calmed some of her nervousness.

  4. I used a seatbelt for years with my dog. She’d sit, lie down, stand up – it isn’t like a seatbelt for humans, since it is them wearing a halter that can be attached to the seatbelt. They can’t pace in it (which is not a bad thing) but they have plenty of freedom of movement anyway.
    And it is so much safer. Really, a crate in the car is what can keep them safest in the event of an accident, but at the very least a seatbelt. It is safer for everyone, since they’re less likely to be distracting to the driver. I also found that my dog felt more comfortable when she was wearing the seatbelt. She must have felt more secure, and it calmed some of her nervousness.

Leave a Reply

