my inner tween

so, i fell for the harry potter series like a majority of america. i read every book as soon as i could get my hands on them, and i stood in line with two other 30-somethings to buy the 7th book at midnight of the release. i don’t actually feel weird about that at all, because, like i said: the majority of america. 

but then i also got all into the sisterhood of the traveling pants series (i’m still one book behind on that, but i love what i’ve read so far, and i tOtally watched the movie). that one i felt a little silly reading in public, so i kept it on the nightstand.

and now my latest leisure reading, thanks to my dear friend tweely, is the twilight saga by stephenie meyer. i just read the first book, and now i’m waiting for the others to arrive. i read a lot of it on an airplane on my way to/from providence, and i also admitted it out loud at a table full of adults at dinner. i was a little sheepish at first, until another woman piped up and said, “oh i want to read that! let me know how you like it!” so i guess i’m not alone in enjoying books for the tween audience, even though i feel a tiny bit silly about it sometimes. i think i’m getting over it, though. who am i to complain if i’m entertained?

since this is my blog about veganism, though, allow me this one little harpy complaint: i got totally irritated at the crack in the book that being a vampire who doesn’t eat people is like living on tofu and soymilk. that was an exceedingly annoying thing to say, stephenie meyer. 
2 comments

  1. Aw, c’mon, there are lots of adults who read YA stuff. No shame about it! (Although personally I really didn’t like Twilight, I know a lot of people did…) I get the most annoyed at people who loved Harry Potter but say they “don’t read fantasy” (uh, a boy becoming a wizard… hello?) or that they “don’t like fantasy” or something.
    My friend told me she read a book about a vegan who gets turned into a vampire! & then the person has to deal w/how they feel about having to eat blood, etc. But my friend said, despite that promising snippet, the book actually kind of sucked. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

my inner tween

so, i fell for the harry potter series like a majority of america. i read every book as soon as i could get my hands on them, and i stood in line with two other 30-somethings to buy the 7th book at midnight of the release. i don’t actually feel weird about that at all, because, like i said: the majority of america. 

but then i also got all into the sisterhood of the traveling pants series (i’m still one book behind on that, but i love what i’ve read so far, and i tOtally watched the movie). that one i felt a little silly reading in public, so i kept it on the nightstand.

and now my latest leisure reading, thanks to my dear friend tweely, is the twilight saga by stephenie meyer. i just read the first book, and now i’m waiting for the others to arrive. i read a lot of it on an airplane on my way to/from providence, and i also admitted it out loud at a table full of adults at dinner. i was a little sheepish at first, until another woman piped up and said, “oh i want to read that! let me know how you like it!” so i guess i’m not alone in enjoying books for the tween audience, even though i feel a tiny bit silly about it sometimes. i think i’m getting over it, though. who am i to complain if i’m entertained?

since this is my blog about veganism, though, allow me this one little harpy complaint: i got totally irritated at the crack in the book that being a vampire who doesn’t eat people is like living on tofu and soymilk. that was an exceedingly annoying thing to say, stephenie meyer. 

2 comments

  1. she’s a local author here. i liked the first book. and not to put you off the next two, but i didn’t like them as much.i can tell you why after you finish them and we can compare notes. it might just be my personal style and that i’ve read too many vamp books. i am looking forward to the last one due out next month though. and the movie is coming out in december. looks fun.

  2. OHH yeah. I’d never even heard about the series until earlier this year. It was on some “recommendations” on Amazon, but I usually ignore them. For some reason, I went ahead and got the first one from the library (I have a rule about _not_ buying books). Then the second one was “lent out” via an online loaning library. Then the third, I found online and read it on the comp. (Books 2 and 3 I read each in two days). I couldn’t go anywhere Fri. night because I had to work early Sat. morning and needed the sleep and the brain power. But last night I couldn’t STAND it. I drove to Borders and bought the fourth book. Read about half of it last night. So yes, I’m one of those “over 30s” who enjoys the books, too. I’m interested to know what you thought of it 🙂
    (Btw… I’m also a vegetarian, former vegan-who-wants-to-return-to-veganism, animal lover, low-key but PASSIONATE animal rights person. And I love reading your blog 🙂
    KR

Leave a Reply

