feeling detached

i'm in a little bit of a funk lately. i'm not sure exactly what my deal is, but i don't really feel like doing much of anything. i just want to sit around on my own, but then i feel bad about it, like i should be doing more. it's weird. i am feeling especially detached when it comes to activism stuff right now, and i don't know what that's about. all i can say is, i have never been less enthused about the idea of going to a protest. i know i've talked about this before–protests make me kind of nervous in general anyway–but lately i'm just completely meh about the whole thing. i don't know if it's that i feel like i'm not making a difference, or if it's that my philosophy is changing (i.e., what is effective activism, to me?), or if the fact that i'm feeling detached in general is making me less likely to head out and do social stuff like that. or maybe it's something else. all i know is, i had a hard time even deciding to sign up for the farm sanctuary walk this year, and i LOVE farm sanctuary. it's a little disorienting. i'm going to think on this some  more and try to figure out what's going on in my noggin. i'll get back to you if i come up with anything remotely interesting.

2 comments

  1. I know where you’re coming from. I really dislike protests as I don’t think they really accomplish much — but I have participated in a few because I wanted to support the person organizing them, and I knew that if no one turned up they might cease to be an activist, or might even cease to be veg (this was a newbie activist). So when when thinking about participating in an action, it’s important to not only think about the public effect, but also the effect on the group.

  2. yes, i think that’s the main reason why i end up going anyway (in cases where i do go). i think i need to actually sit down and think through some of my philosophy, because it would help me pick and choose my activities better. right now i think i do everything willy-nilly as the spirit moves me, and that gets stressful sometimes, especially when i’m feeling detached, like now.

Leave a Reply

