time to adopt your turkey!

okay, everyone, it's that time of year again… time to choose a beautiful turkey friend to sponsor at farm sanctuary. hooray! this is my fourth year sponsoring a turkey, and this year i've chosen faye, at the california sanctuary. just look at her fuzzy little head! hee.

in semi-related news, i've now heard my mother tell the same story two days in a row about how there's just no way she can "handle dealing with a big dead bird" on thanksgiving. this is the second year that my grandma has been too ill to run thanksgiving herself, so last year my mom ran the show, but delegated the entire turkey detail to her uncle. this year, my great-uncle is also too ill, and won't be attending, so everything falls to my mom. she told me (and then the next day, my sister, in front of me) about how she doesn't mind taking care of the dinner but just "can't handle" the dead-bird aspect, as it looks too much like what it is. gee, what a novel concept. and then she said (both days, as i guess she finds it amusing and cute) that she doesn't mind eating all of the other stuff that "just looks like it was picked off of a bush in that styrofoam package," but that there's no way on earth she can do the turkey. to which i say, AMEN, but also, sigh, because my mom continually finds new ways to frustrate me. 
3 comments

  1. I love that you sponsor a turkey around Thanksgiving! This is my first Thanksgiving as a vegan and this dead-bird-on-table phenomena is going to be difficult to deal with this year. Not sure what I am going to do.
    If you have a MP3 player, you should listen to the podcast Vegetarian Food For Thought by Colleen from Compassionate Cooks (www.compassionatecooks.com). She speaks about EVERYTHING you could want to know about veganism, but her wealth of information can help when dealing with non-vegs.

  2. I just sponsored Serendipity. So weird, ’cause I’ve used “Serendipity” as a screen name so many times. Then, I click over and the first turkey I see was her!

  3. thanks brandi, i’m hecka behind on my podcast-listening but i’ll have to give that one a try. personally i’m thinking about offering to host a totally vegan thanksgiving at our house, which would eliminate all of the problems (for me) entirely! i’m selfish, what can i say?
    sara, how cute! it was meant to be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

