the magic of kale chips

so, i’ve said it before, and i’ll say it again: i’m a bad vegan. i hate three things that most people assume all veg*ns love: mushrooms (rubbery!), eggplant (blerg!), and cooked greens (fibrous and often bitter!). there are greens i can make some exceptions for, like spinach in my lasagna or something like that… but a pile of cooked greens as a side dish is pretty much an instant recipe for sad face. i tend to eat my greens raw.

anyhow, that means things like mustard greens, chard, and kale are pretty much never on the menu for me. i know kale is like some crazy superfood and everyone keeps saying we should eat it, but… meh. although lately, i keep hearing about kale chips this, and kale chips that, and people who hate kale love kale chips, and i started to get a little curious. i mentioned it to my husband (who is not only the cook in the house, but has a bit more dignified palate than i do), and eventually he decided to pick up some kale and give it a shot to surprise me.

verdict? DELICIOUS! seriously, i ate them for like an hour. he made a couple of different variations on a theme… little bit of olive oil with salt & pepper, or some garlic, or some nutritional yeast. all delicious. we both loved them, and so did maia.

this weekend we hosted mother’s day dinner, and he decided to make kale chips to put out beforehand. he made three varieties, and as i carried them to the living room i said quietly to him, “now don’t hold your breath, my family is probably going to think this is weird,” but much to my surprise, everyone tried them, and everyone liked them. my mom (who i thought would be most resistant) thought they were awesome, and ate a bunch. she hilariously admitted that she only tried the first one to be polite (hee), but that they were surprisingly good. the little ones (my nieces, 3 and 6) really liked them, too.

so the moral of the story is that kale chips are the new magical way to trick people into eating their greens. the end.

2 comments

  1. They really are magical in that way!

    I’m not a fan of mushrooms either. I don’t dislike greens, but I don’t bother with them often – I always feel like I’m in a race to use them before they go bad, so I don’t buy them as often as I “should”. I’m trying to grow some in my garden this year instead!

    But, like you, I’d heard about kale chips for a long time before I finally tried making some, and then it was like an epiphany! No wonder everyone raves about them! šŸ˜€

  2. Snap! I dislike a lot of things other vegans love. I am with you on cooked leafy greens like spinach & bok choy, awful! And I like button, field & portobello mushies but dislike all other varieties.

    I also dislike kale chips, but I’ve only made them once.

Leave a Reply

