the august of vegan awesomeness

what is up, dwindling readership? are you still there? if so, say hello in the comments, because i don’t believe you.

i am finally (scratch that: FINALLY) done with all of my tedious summer school grading, of which it was totally my own fault that it took me ninety years, but whatever, i’m done, and now i actually feel like it’s summer vacation. which is horribly sad, because three weeks from now i’ll already be back ‘on contract’ and running my TA training. wah!

so, i have resolved to cram as much fun into august as humanly possible, to make this summer work for me if it’s the last thing i do. first up, we’re heading to austin in a couple of days, and i’m so excited. we haven’t been back in almost 2 years, and so many new vegan things have sprung up! we’re basically planning to eat our way from one end of town to the other, starting and ending with guero’s. twice.

then, at the end of the month, i’m heading to portland for vida vegan con, and i’m beyond insanely stoked. so many amazing vegans in one place? and that place is portland? just shove a voodoo doughnut in my face and start hugging me already.

meanwhile, i plan to get back in the bloggy habit, so stay tuned for all of the gory details on both trips and whatever other vegany goodness i feel like yapping about in the interim.

7 comments

  1. Have a great time!

    I wish I could sympathize with the measly 3 weeks of vacation you are on right now, but I get only that spread across the entire year, so it’s hard! šŸ˜‰

    1. hee, i know, i’m sorry! i feel like my job is one of those “always supposed to be doing something, even all night and every weekend,” so i get very excited about structured time off (even though i usually work through it). my summer classes ended on july 10, and it took me so long to finish grading everything that it feels like time lost. whine, whine. šŸ˜‰

  2. I’m here – you don’t know me. Can’t remember how I found your blog – probably another vegan site or a google search, but I have it bookmarked and check back about once a week.

    Hope you have a great few weeks off!

  3. I’ve been reading for years! I can’t remember how I found you, but I always take notice when you post. šŸ™‚

  4. SO excited to hear about your double dose of great vegan vacationing. AND that you too will be in Portland at Vida šŸ™‚ I think I’ve been reading you about three (wow, time does fly) years or so. Feel free to say Hiya. I’ll be there promoting Vegucated (a new documentary film) with the director.

Leave a Reply

