aveda comforting tea

so, i’ve been using aveda products forever, because the girl who cuts my hair is a friend from high school, and when i started going to her about 13 years ago, she worked at an aveda salon. she got me hooked and i’ve been pretty staunchly loyal ever since. i often say that my hair is an aveda snob.

my friend doesn’t work at an aveda salon anymore, so i have to actually go to an aveda store to buy my goods these days, and there are a few nearby. the one i end up at most often is at a mall about 10 minutes from my house, and it’s a mostly-outdoor mall. that doesn’t really matter so much, except that when i tell you the entrance to this aveda store (technically a salon/spa, whatever) has a small foyer, it makes more sense. so i’ve gone to this particular location about… oh, let’s say about 34 times, conservative estimate, and somewhere in there i noticed that they have tea in the foyer. it’s in one of those insulated pump-type canisters, and they have a ginormous pile of disposable cups, and a little sign encouraging you to have some tea. until yesterday, i walked past it every time, sort of half-considering giving it a try but never bothering.

this is partly because i’m a total novice when it comes to tea, and i am also really really picky about flavors. so if you offer me a hypothetical tea, my brain is automatically going to assume that i probably won’t like it, and then i’ll just move on to something else. but for whatever reason, yesterday i decided to try it on my way out of the store.

aveda tea

at first i poured myself just enough to take a sip, and when it came out super dark i was worried; i assumed it would have a bitter taste. but then i smelled it, and it (hilariously) smelled exactly like you might think tea in an aveda store would smell. i gave it the ol’ college try, and at first it just didn’t taste like much… but as soon as i swallowed it, i was sold. i immediately filled the whole cup and took it with me to sip. it leaves this amazing sweet taste in your mouth… so much so that i suddenly worried that i was drinking honey or something. when i got home, i googled and as far as i can tell, it’s not sweetened with anything beyond what’s in the tea itself (licorice and peppermint). it’s also apparently outrageously expensive, so it looks like i’ll just be drinking it out of the aveda foyer whenever i can.

has anyone else ever had this stuff? i definitely recommend giving it a try if you have the chance, even if (maybe even especially if) you don’t normally like tea.

10 comments

  1. One of my favorite parts of getting my hair cut at the Aveda Institute is the cups of tea they provide. They make it iced when it’s hot out and it’s delightful that way too. I avoided it for a long time because I thought it was going to taste like black licorice. I always thought I hated licorice, but it turns out I like licorice, it’s anise that I hate. I’m way too cheap to but the Aveda stuff, so I just enjoy it every six weeks when I get my hair cut.

  2. Ohmygosh, I LOVE that tea. I bought a box of the tea bags a while back, but I don’t remember it being all that pricy – like five bucks? I hope it hasn’t gone up :/

  3. Alright, I’m obsessed with finding this now. Do you think it would be good for people who don’t usually like tea? Like, I always think tea smells amazing and then tastes like hot water. But I really need to replace my afternoon sugary coffee with something healthier, and this gets such good reviews!

    1. i think it’s definitely worth a shot. i absolutely 100% agree with you; i feel like tea *should* taste good an then just tastes like mildly infused hot water. but this stuff is crazy–it’s super mild in your mouth, but the second you swallow it, you get the sweetness. i wanted to keep drinking it just so i could keep swallowing it!

Leave a Reply

